Request and track
Notice: Mail-in voting is a convenient and safe way to vote, but your ballot might not count if it’s submitted late or with errors. So follow the directions below on how to vote early or absentee and make your vote count in Mississippi.
Excuse required to vote by mail.
Voting by mail is a two step process in Mississippi.
Step 1: Request your ballot NOW. There is no deadline but we recommend you apply by August 1st.
Step 2: Complete and return your ballot ASAP.
Wait! Don't sign your ballot until you find a notary or other authorized oath administrator. You must sign the affidavit on the return envelope in the presence of a notary. They must sign the ballot, too. If you are temporary or permanently physically disabled you may have the ballot witnessed by a person who is at least 18 years of age.
Remember to sign your return ballot.
The voter’s affidavit on the back on the envelope.
If you return your ballot by mail, you must add a stamp when mailing in your ballot.
You can also drop off your ballot in person at your local elections office.
Any designated person can drop off a ballot at the post office*.
*Note that no one may return ballots in person, all ballots must be mailed.
If you did not use your absentee ballot and would like to vote in person, simply go to your polling site and vote in-person ballot on Election Day. You may have to use a provisional ballot but this is better than not voting.
Mississippi does offer voters a chance to address challenges to their ballot.
Your state has a cure period, which means you can “cure” a challenge to the signature on your ballot if it was done incorrectly. Your local elections office is required to contact you and give you options to remedy your ballot. Your absentee cure form must be returned by 12:00 p.m. on the 10th day after Election Day.
You may get a call from a number you do not recognize with a notification that you need to cure your ballot. Be sure to pick so you don’t miss your chance to make sure your vote is counted.
Photo ID with voter’s name, can be expired by as much as 10 years if issued by federal or state government.
Enter your address below to see what you can expect on Election Day.
Primary Type (D): Open
Primary Type (R): Open
The election is an open primary. You may choose to vote in any party’s primary.
The Mississippi primary election includes the following races:
– Attorney General
– Secretary of State
– Agricultural Commissioner
– State Legislature (both houses)
In your state, 17-year-olds who will turn 18 by November 7th, 2023, are able to vote in the state primary election.
Your state automatically registers people to vote at the address on their drivers license or other state issued ID card. If you have moved but have not updated your ID with your new address, changed your name or want to add a political party selection, you must update your voter registration. Click here to check to see if you are registered to vote, and update your registration if needed.
You can register to vote and cast your ballot on Election Day at your polling place or local elections office. Bring a valid ID and proof of residence with you.
In Mississippi, you may vote early at your circuit clerk's office if you have a qualifying excuse. The deadline to vote in person absentee, or to return a completed ballot by mail in person, is August 5th at 12 p.m. noon
Some states have laws that specifically allow citizens to preregister at a certain age while others allow registration as long as you’re 18 by the next election. Preregistration means you’ll be automatically registered to vote on your 18th birthday without taking any additional steps.
In Mississippi, you can preregister to vote if you are 18 by the next election. Register to vote today!
Some states even let you vote in their primaries at 17 if you’ll be 18 by the general election so you can participate in the whole process!
You can vote in the Mississippi primaries if you are 17 by the next election.