HeadCount’s The Bridge Session to Feature Bob Weir and Members of The National

Bob Weir will perform with members of The National in “The Bridge Session,” a free webcast originating from Weir’s TRI Studios on March 24th.

A very limited number of tickets are available to benefactors wishing to make tax-deductible contributions to HeadCount of $1,000.

Mixing different musical genres, political discussion and a showcase of modern technology, the event aims to “bridge the gaps” between people of various tastes and viewpoints. The name of the event also references TRI Studios’ location 15 minutes north of the Golden Gate Bridge, and The National’s home base of Brooklyn and its equally famous bridge.

The National’s Scott and Bryan Devendorf (bass and drums, respectively) assembled a band from within Brooklyn’s independent music scene for this one-time-only performance. Their setlist will include original songs by The Grateful Dead and The National, as well as cover songs with subtle, and not-so-subtle, political messages.

Between sets, a roundtable discussion will focus on issues that potentially unify people of divergent ideological perspectives - specifically, getting money out of politics and protecting the First Amendment. Grateful Dead lyricist and activist John Perry Barlow, one of the first public figures to bring attention to the Stop Internet Piracy Act (SOPA), will be among the panelists. Fans watching The Bridge Session at home will be able to ask questions to Weir, Barlow and other special guests via Twitter.

The performance and discussion will take place in front of an intimate studio audience of benefactors and select media. HeadCount is also giving away two tickets to attend in person via an online contest. For more information on how to enter or acquire tickets please visit www.HeadCount.org.

HeadCount founder Marc Brownstein, a member of the electronic rock band The Disco Biscuits and a Brooklyn native, will serve as emcee. The band will include Brooklyn-based musicians Josh Kaufman, Thomas Bartlett, Kyle Resnick, Walt Martin, Conrad Doucette and Samuel Cohen.