Senators are elected to serve federally in the US Senate. Their main job is to write and pass laws that will benefit the communities that elected them. There are 100 senators in the US Senate, 2 from each state. This means that every state, regardless of size or population, has the same representation in the senate. Senators serve 6 year terms.