Below are some of the most frequently asked questions that you’ll come across while doing friend to friend outreach. If you have additional questions, please email [email protected]
Q: What if I get asked a really specific question that I don’t know how to answer?
A: It’s ok — your friends understand you don’t need to be an expert. Voting and voting laws can be complicated and we want to direct your friends to experts. Have them call 1-866-OUR-VOTE to answer their questions.
Q: What’s HeadCount?
A: HeadCount is a national non-profit organization that works with musicians to promote participation in democracy in the United States. It is best known for registering voters at concerts – having signed up 1,000,000 voters since its launch in 2004.
Q: What happens when I sync my contacts?
A: Syncing contacts pulls your phone or email contact list(s) onto Outvote. This step allows you to complete friend-to-friend outreach. Even after syncing contacts, you retain 100% ownership over your personal data. Neither Outvote nor its clients gain ownership over your data or the data of your personal contacts.
Q: Who can see my synced contacts?
A: Only you can see your synced contacts. If you reach out to contacts on behalf of an organization, and complete an outreach report in the Inbox the organization can see the name of the person you contacted.
Q: Can Outvote or the campaign/organization I’ve joined contact my contacts?
A: Neither Outvote nor the campaigns or organizations you are part of can contact your personal contacts.
Q: Can I delete my synced contacts?
A: You have full control and ownership over your contacts when syncing them on Outvote. All information is encrypted and secure on Outvote servers. You can close your account at any time and we will automatically delete your data from our servers through Settings > Delete Contacts or by sending a request to [email protected]
Q: Is my contact information sold to anyone?
A: Outvote does not sell your information or the information of your contacts to any third parties.
Q: What does the organization see about me when I join a campaign on Outvote?
A: When taking action for an organization or campaign, Outvote shares the name you used to sign up for Outvote, actions you have completed, the number of messages you have sent, and which voters you have already contacted. This ensures that campaigns can measure their progress, and use their resources effectively to get as many of their voters to the polls as possible. You can delete your information from our servers at any time by going to Headquarters > Menu > Settings > Delete Contacts.
Q: What happens to my information when I check my voter registration using Outvote?
A: If you check your registration through one of our Check Your Registration links, you will need to provide the same information to do so as you do for Outvote sign up. This includes name, email address, phone number and zip code. Our system will only share this information with the campaign through which you are checking your registration, so that the campaign can confirm your registration is checked and up-to-date.